OTC - Broker Set up and Functionalities
Inter-dealer Broker/ Broker Set up and Functionalities
1. Customer Onboarding Process
You can onboard your customers so you can broker trades on behalf of your customers. This guide covers how to generate and share a delegation link and how to delete an existing delegation.
Important notes on account delegation link:
Expires after 7 days if the customer has not submitted the form
Expires immediately upon customer form submission
Each link is single-use — generate a new link for each customer
Only Authorised Representative(s) of the broker has the access to generate the account delegation link
Broker to send a delegation link to a customer
Ensure your customer has completed offline onboarding with you before sharing this link.
Navigate to Settings.
Click Trading accounts → Delegated accounts.
Generate & Share Link:
Click Add Client button
Click the Copy button and share the link with your customer.
Customer’s Confirmation on Account delegation to broker:
Customer’s confirmation choice:
Once you share the delegation link, your customer will need to complete a few steps on their end before the connection is active.
The customer must be logged into their Bullish account and open the link.
Once they do, a Account delegation request will appear on screen asking them to confirm they want to grant you access to trade on their behalf.
Choosing a trade approval method
When accepting the invitation, the customer must select the trading account(s) and choose one of the following trade confirmation flows on trading account level:
Approval required: The customer must approve every trade you initiate in their own user interface (UI).
Straight through : Trades you submit execute immediately on the customer's account, provided they have sufficient margin.
Customer must fully trust the broker before selecting this option.
Click Submit.
2. View on all Delegated Trading accounts
Navigate to Settings > Trading accounts
Owned accounts tab:
Provides the list of all your own trading accounts
Delegated accounts tab:
Provides a consolidated overview of all customer accounts (Legal entity name, registration number, Trading account alias and ID) that have been linked or delegated to you as a broker.
3. Executing a Trade
Trade expiry: 15 minutes
Navigate to the OTC Tab: Once logged in, click the "OTC" tab in the main navigation menu.
Select Maker and Taker:
In the "Create" section, select the Maker and Taker for the trade.Select Trading Account: Choose the trading account for both parties. If a customer has only delegated one account, it will be pre-populated.
Define Trade Legs: From the maker's perspective, define the trade by selecting the side (Buy/Sell) and the underlying asset.
Add Legs (Optional): You can add up to 25 legs to a single trade.
Submit the Trade: Review all details and click the "Submit" button.
Note: Approval method section: this section indicates the approval method selected by the counterparties.
4. Managing Pending OTC Trades
Trade sections list all trades awaiting approval/ match/ cancelled or rejected. From here, you can click on a trade to open its detailed view.
Pending OTC Trades:
Match OTC Trades:
Cancelled/Rejected OTC Trades:
You can hover to see the reason of cancellation or rejection.
5. Viewing and Managing Individual Trades
5.1 Adding a Memo (Optional)
From the trade details pop-up. You can add a personal note for your own reference in the "Memo" field. To save the note, click the “Update” button. The saved memo is only visible to brokers.
Cloning a Trade
Click the "Copy" button to pre-fill a new trade with the same details as an existing one.
Cancelling a Pending Trade
4, You have two options when cancelling a trade from the details pop-up:
Cancel: This permanently cancels the pending trade for all parties.
Cancel & Edit: This cancels the original trade and immediately pre-fills the trade booking screen with the original details, allowing you to quickly make amendments and resubmit
6. Account History
Deposits & Withdrawals
This section shows a log of your own account's deposit and withdrawal activities.
OTC Trade History
This section provides a log of all OTC trades brokered by your entity. Navigate to History > OTC.
Filtering Trades
Use the filters to find specific trades by Status or time span.
Viewing Status Details
For "Cancelled" or "Rejected" trades, hover your mouse over the status to see the reason.
7. Delete an account delegation
Deleting a delegation immediately revokes your ability to broker on behalf of the specified trading account. You will no longer be able to submit trades on the customer's account.
If you deleted a delegation by mistake, you can resend a new account delegation link to the customer to re-establish access.
Navigate to Settings.
Click Trading accounts → Delegated accounts.
Click Delete on the linked account of your customer.
Confirm the action — click X if this was requested in error.